Painting of James Stevens Bulloch (1793 - 1849) in his middle years. Bulloch was the grandfather of Pres. Theodore Roosevelt and great-grandfather of Anna Eleanor Roosevelt, wife of President Franklin D. Roosevelt.
Martha (Mittie) Bulloch Roosevelt was 19 when she married Theodore Roosevelt of NY here at Bulloch Hall in 1853 after a 4 month engagement. She had 4 children including Theodore Roosevelt Jr., 26th president of the US. She was the grandmother of Anna Eleanor Roosevelt who became the wife of President Franklin D. Roosevelt. Mittie died of typhoid fever in 1864 at 49. That same day, Alice Roosevelt, wife of Theodore Jr., also died.
Is the young black girl (holding baby) seated with others on the front steps of Bulloch Hall the young girl who tended to the candles and oil lamps in the home?
An early photograph of Bulloch Hall
President Theodore Roosevelt, Jr. and Mrs. Roosevelt visited his mother's home in Roswell in October 195.
Reconstructed slave's quarters
A tour goer by the name of Jennifer sent this in with the red circle around what she found to be unexplainable, as no one was seen sitting in that second rocking chair as they were approaching the house.
We get photos exactly like these submitted to us on a very regular basis. Two photos taken of an upstairs window on the side of Bulloch Hall. Something's in the first photo (looking out at the group?), but then not the other.
Submitted by tour goer, Jacob Dore, he was surprised to see a very, very tall, and very slender figure in this photo he snapped as the tour group was leaving the grounds of Bulloch Hall. No one was in sight, completely unexplainable by all who were present!
One tour goer had a FLIR (thermal imaging) camera with him on his tour. He immediately saw something in the upstairs right-hand window, lowest middle pane. There was no explanation for this anomaly.
President Jimmy Carter with his aunt Emily Dolvin in 1980 while visiting her in Roswell.
President Jimmy Carter came to visit his aunt, Emily Dolvin, many times. His motorcade is pictured here on Mimosa Boulevard as it turns onto Bulloch Avenue towards her home in the late 1970's.
The building you see in the background above was the Roswell Funeral home from 1935 to 1989. It is now home to The Mill Kitchen & Bar, Mimosa Salon, as well as a few other businesses.
John Dunwody (1786 - 1858) was a Savannah business owner who accepted Roswell King's offer for him and his wife to become some of Roswell's founders in the late 1830's.
Mimosa Hall as it looked in the 1930's
Click on link HERE for many current photos of Mimosa Hall's interior as well as its beautiful grounds.
Barrington King (1798 - 1866), son of Roswell King & Catherine Barrington King with wife Catherine Margaret Nephew King (1804 - 1887) had 12 children.
Both of these portraits were painted in the 1840's and still hang in Barrington Hall's parlor.
James Roswell King (1827 - 1897), son of Barrington and Catherine King, founded the Ivy Mill. The woolen mill manufactured the special grey fabric for Confederate soldiers' uniforms.
Catherine Barrington King Pratt (1810 - 1894), daughter of Roswell and Catherine Barrington King, was the wife of Rev. Nathaniel A. Pratt who was the first minister of the Roswell Presbyterian Church.
Sarah Clifford Baker standing at the mantle in 1900. Sarah was the daughter of Rev. William E. Baker and Catherine Evelyn King Baker, and the granddaughter of Barrington and Catherine King.
This 11 room house was completed in 1842 after 2 yrs of construction.
Reverend William Elliott Baker, pastor of the Roswell Presbyterian Church, is pictured here with Catherine Evelyn King Baker. President Theodore Roosevelt called on Mrs. Baker during his Roswell visit in 1905 because she had been a bridesmaid at his parent's wedding at Bulloch Hall.
Katherine Baker Simpson, great-granddaughter of the Barrington Kings, lived here with her adopted daughter Lois Simpson, until Katherine died in 2003. The city of Roswell purchased Barrington Hall in 2005.
The dam and waterfall in Vickery Creek that fueled the mills.
The many buildings along Vickery Creek that made up the Roswell Manufacturing Co.
Lauren Woolen Mill (formerly the Ivy Mill) workers posed for this 1890's picture in front of the factory near Vickery Creek.
Employees at the Oxbo Falls Manufacturing Co standing in front of the water wheel covered with ice in 1900.
Besides the old machine shop, this building is the only one left standing today, but it was close to falling apart in the 1940's.
Photos of the old factories in full force before the Civil War...
Being paid far less than the adults, children were valued mill workers for their small size and agile fingers. They replaced whirling bobbins as they filled with thread. When a thread broke they tied the ends together, sometimes requiring them to crawl into the spinning machine. The older the children were, the more hours per day that they worked, leaving no time for an education.
Ruins from the mill buildings and factories can be found along Vickery Creek today.
Roswell King (1765 - 1844) was born in Connecticut, but spent most of his life in GA. He established the Roswell Manufacturing Company in the late 1830's.
This is one of our favorite paranormal photos of all time! Taken in October 2014 by tour goer, Lisa Paine. She was simply taking a photo of the large tree there as others were walking around. She looked down at her snapshot and saw the figure that looks like a heavily bearded man with a loose-fitting white shirt on. Possibly having no right arm. She immediately looked all around to see if there was a man in the group that matched that description, only to find that there was not. Joe Avena (tour co-owner) happened to be coming into the cemetery with his own tour group and was shown this photo. He also looked around, but knew he had not seen a bearded man at all that night.
July 2000 dedication ceremony. The monument was given to the city by Roswell Mills Camp 1547, Sons of Confederate Veterans.
Photo of the glass encasement holding items found during renovations. Are these Catherine’s shoes?
Did a tour goer capture "Fred," the Confederate Soldier that haunts this building and has touched many of our tour goers over the years?
A young woman enjoying a summer day in the town square in 1939. The fountain was first built in the 1930's. The Roswell Store, Roswell Bank, Roswell Soda Company, and the Post Office are in the background.
The first version of the bandstand, built in 1905 for President Theodore Roosevelt, Jr.'s visit and speech
1940's photo of downtown Roswell, in front of the Roswell Store (now Public House).
Roswell Department Store (now Soda Salon). This photo was taken in the early 1970's.
The upstairs of the Public House showing overhead beams
One night, we had a special event that ended inside of the historic Public House building. We were speaking to the group about a confederate soldier ghost that's been seen on this floor and on this stairwell many times over the years, as the attendees were all sitting at tables on this main floor. A tour goer had come with his FLIR camera that he used for work, and captured this figure at the base of the stairs. Once he emailed it to us, I asked him if the "figure" could actually be the heat from the overhead light fixtures. He plugged in the temperatures to show that it couldn't be (see temperature scale on right side). Furthermore, he emailed me months later to say that he took this photo to the FLIR company's representatives at a convention, and they could not explain this photo.